Two weeks and a day of a writing routine

After 15 days of writing 8 paragraphs split between two increasingly large short stories, I have realized something. My ability to write short stories is limited unless I have a word or, page limit for it. Which is either practical or a tremendous hassle for me. Given my desire to publish a physical novel. Yet it does have its practical purpose if I would want to do a serial, or annual installment in a story for a magazine or anthology. It is an oddly vexing contradiction within the nature of a being creative I think. Do you limit the scope of the story, or do you allow yourself to fulfill its full potential?

Outside of that slight paradox of frustration, and inspiration writing is going well most days. I have struggled a few days in this routine due to a mixture of sinus problems, mind-grains, and mental stress. On those days I try to at minimum do a paragraph in both stories just to keep the creative juices flowing. Usually, the day after if I’m feeling clearer, I double the goal to sixteen paragraphs plus whatever didn’t get done the previous day.

Given now that the busy season at work is beginning, I have decided to write six paragraphs a piece in both stories. Since writing at work may pose to be almost impossible when work is busy. It seems to be a rational step forward, instead of doubling the 8 paragraphs to 16 paragraphs in both stories. I would prefer to avoid writer’s block or a mental burnout.

Leave a Reply

