Random Musings #5.9

Previous entries: Random Musings #5, Random Musings #5.1, Random Musings #5.2, Random Musings #5.3, Random Musings #5.4, Random Musings #5.5, Random Musings #5.6, Random Musings #5.7, Random Musings #5.8


Forcing myself to stop as I saw a handful of guards standing in front of the underground cell door. Two of them had pistols pointed at the heads of Kali and Frigar.  If Kali wasn’t projecting a small protective aura, I doubted I would have noticed. Stepping to the right to avoid being seen, assuming they didn’t see me coming. This was something I didn’t expect. A hostage situation where I had little information on what was happening. I needed a distraction, so I could try and get some help. Downside they would most likely kill Kali and Frigar if they saw me leave.

Hiding for several minutes, I heard no footsteps approaching me. Which meant I was should be safe for the moment, despite my abrupt entrance. Knowing I was comprised I, formulated a basic plan.

Placing both hands on the wall behind me, I closed my eyes. Channeling a small amount of energy to create my version of radar. Desperately needing to know the odds, before I acted. Feeling the bounce back that revealed at least six guards. Making notes of where they were so I could strike without injuring my companions.  Taking a deep breath, I choose my locations with care. Releasing quick narrow spikes from underneath each guard. Aiming more to maim than to kill, if I could. Hearing a few screams, as I hit my targets. Creating and releasing another wave of spikes before stopping as the air fell quiet.

Opening my eyes I waited a few moments before peering around the corner. Seeing Kali and Frigar relatively out of harm. The guards that once held them on the ground, barely moving.

Frigar most have noticed me before saying, “Earolis is all they sent when they noticed we hadn’t returned with the children,” chuckling a bit. “I suppose I should be grateful, now that the guards have been dealt with,” crossing his arms. “I guess I should starting dragging the bodies outside before releasing the children. No point in traumatizing them farther.”

I watched Frigar move the bodies outside. Using a mix of the earth and his hands to do so, as I fought back the urge to slap him. Hoping to stop the arrogant, ungrateful, egotist he was becoming. He may have similar powers to me, but he always managed to get under my skin. Taking a series of deep breaths to calm myself as I waited. Splitting my gaze between Kali and Frigar. Coming to realize Kali should be the ones to let them out. I believed they would listen to her, before listening to Frigar or me.

Once Frigar finished moving the bodies, I approached Kali. Sharing that I wanted her to be the one to release the orphans.  In an effort to keep them calm as they received their liberation. Kali gave me a slight glare but nodded, looking more to the ground than to me. It was clear she nervous but understanding which was a good sign. She and the other children had only escaped five days ago, only to return to free the others. There was something oddly storybook about that.

Kali sighed some before walking to the wooden,  door. Expanding her glowing aura as she reached for the door. Forming almost finger-like appendages before digging them into the door. Aggressively pulling the door off of its hinges. Tossing it to the left side of the chamber. Where it collided with a slight echoing thud. The children inside releasing several gasps, looking at Kali.

Kali said “You are free now, ” stepping aside gradually. “The stairs will lead you to your new lives.”

Glancing inside, I watched the orphaned children stand up. Hesistent to move towards the door, almost as if they believed this was a ruse. I peeked up at Kali, trying to find a way to break the orphans collective stillness.

After a few minutes passed the first few children approached the door, with tentative steps. Cautiously walking past the threshold, before looking back at the other children. Keeping their gaze on the other children as they moved forward. Getting a little faster the farther they got. The other children began to follow their courageous example, beginning to move past the door. This continued at a decent pace until they were all out. Kali and I were the last to leave the underground chamber.

 

 

Leave a Reply

