Random Musings #7.8

Previous entries: Random Musings #7, Random Musings #7.1, Random Musings #7.2, Random Musings #7.3, Random Musings #7.4, Random Musings #7.5, Random Musings #7.6. Random Musings #7.7


Following the sound up the stairs, at a breakneck pace. Trying not to trip on our own feet in the process.  Wishing I had my gun on me as I pushed on the door leading to the roof. Seeing three of the predators were on the roof alive and to more dead. Taking turns to fire on them from the limited cover. Keeping them at a safe distance. The creatures didn’t seem to notice us, as they were bombarded with bullets and rain.

Somone I didn’t recognize, waved us over. Sprinting over the slippery rooftop, I made my way over. The others following quickly behind.  A large scoped rife was forced into my hands before the creatures were pointed at. Making the fire motion with his fingers, before resuming to fire. I didn’t recognize much about the rifle, but it looked military.

Relying on outdated military training I did my best to line up the weapon properly. Feeling around for the bolt release and trigger. Gripping the bolt release carefully, I pulled it back releasing a spent cartridge. Letting the bolt go forward by itself. Peering down the scope, keeping my eye a few inches away.  Taking careful aim, knowing the wind could move the bullets intended trajectory. Finding a decent shot at the creature on the left side of the roof. Holding my breath, I fired into the monster’s neck. A little right of where I aimed. The creature growled deep in pain, before boldly charging forward. Letting its dark green blood leak down its body in the process. Chambering another round, I readied myself to make another shot.  Before I could fire the creature slide forward, landing on its neck hard. Releasing a loud crack as the monster’s neck broke.

The other two monsters’ released a fierce-some high-pitched howl, as their wings sprouted out of their backs. I could tell if that meant they were fleeing or doing something else.

Before they could manage to do anything I quickly fired another round. Aiming for the wing in an attempt to keep them grounded. Either one escaping would be dangerous. The others seemed to follow my idea, as the one I hit starting falling back to the roof. Quickly chamber another round I did the same thing to the one still aloft. Releasing another howl, as it began slowly plummet. Laning with a thud, that kicked up a circle of water.

Without fully realizing it, I managed to fire four shots in rapid succession. Wounding them once more, before killing them with a second shot. Believing so anyway, since I had seen these things take a lot of bullets before being killed. There were vulnerable parts on beneath their armor like skin.It seemed biology failed in shielding any joints, and the wings from what I noticed. Maybe these things had different stages of their existence.

The rain continued to pound the roof as everyone returned inside. Drenched, tired, and yet reeking of gunpowder, fear, and adrenaline. The scent following us down the stairs. Hopefully not infecting the air, with its odorous mix. A disposal method would have to be agreed to if the storm ever lets up.

Finally, we enter the door to the third floor. Martin somehow managed to get ahead of everyone. Hobbling toward the center of the room, as if it was his personal stage. I had to admit the man was highly charismatic.

He waited for every member of both groups to be in the room before clearing his throat. “The storm brought the abominations to our door and we repelled them. Yet, we were not alone in this endeavor. With aid of strangers, we managed to push the creatures back, before eliminating them. Granting us a brief respite as the storm continues to rage on. If we need their help again, we may not have time to fetch their weapons. Which is why I will allow them to hold on to them, ” receiving a mix of cheers and boos after saying that. “Yet, at the same time, two of those strangers managed to bring two of our own back to us. Along with valuable medical supplies, from beyond the quarantined door. Now some of you may have your suspicions about them, but these people worked to no-longer be strangers but friends. I would suggest to everyone who can, rest up and clean your weapons after you get on some dry clothes. Everyone else, change into to some dry clothes and warm up before resuming your duties. This storm isn’t over yet, and we are still are high alert,” raising his pistol into the air. Shouting “We will endure,” receiving cheers from the room.

 

One thought on “Random Musings #7.8

  1. Pingback: Random Musings #7.9 |

Leave a Reply

